The election atmosphere has become energized in Morang district with the date for the second-phase of local level election drawing closer.
The people are eagerly waiting for the various political parties to nominate their candidates at the local levels in the district.
In Biratnagar, the major city of the entire eastern region, people are excited about the election now that their city has been declared as the metropolitan city. The major parties – the Nepali Congress and the CPN (UML) – have not yet picked their mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates, leaving the city denizens guessing.
The CPN (Maoist Centre) has already made public the names of its candidates about a month back. It has picked Bhogendra Yadav as the mayor candidate and Namita Neupane as the deputy-mayor candidate.
It is stated that the Nepali Congress and the CPN (UML) will soon declare their candidates to various posts in the local level including in Biratnagar Metropolitan City.
Whether the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal and the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal among the Madhes-centric parties are going to take part in the election or not has become a widely-talked topic in town.
Meanwhile, all the parties have given importance to the local level election going to take place on June 14 as it would impact the federal and province level elections which have to be held within January 2018.
As such, the parties are intensifying their various election-related activities and canvassing the voters for the election.
More than half dozen people have shown their interest to contest in the election to the post of mayor of Biratnagar Metropolitan City on Nepali Congress ticket. They include Nepali Congress central member Dila Sangraula, Nepali Congress Morang district secretary Nagesh Koirala, the party’s town committee president Bhim Parajuli, Raju Thapa, Gita Acharya, manoj Basnet, Narayan Babu Karki and Phul Kumar Lalbani, among others.
The names of CPN (UML) district chairman Binod Dhakal, the party’s former district committee chairman Mahesh Regmi, Sagar Thapa, Baburam Karki and Bhagawan Thapa are doing the rounds as candidates for the mayoral post on CPN(UML) ticket.
Former mayor Prahlad Saha, Durga Adhikari and Dinesh Saha among other leaders are vying to clinch ticket for the mayoral post from the Rastriya Prajatantra Party. RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *